Corona & Burro
| The Rangers want us to believe that the
Corona Mine was just a silver & gold mine hidden in a beautiful canyon with a flowing
spring. But, we have got photographic proof that this site is actually a long lost brewery
where they harvested both "Corona Light" & "Corona Dark".
This site also contains the foundations of the
3-Stamp Gem Mill which was washed away in a flash flood in 1901. The Gem mine was
discovered by Jack Currant who gave half interest in the mine to Ballarat storekeeper
Charles Weaver in exchange for a 3-stamp mill. The Gem mill was run by a water wheel, the
first for the Death Valley area. The mine started shipping several thousand dollars of
bullion monthly in the winter of 1899-1900. Records show that in April 1899 Weaver filed a
water claim to bring water into Jail Canyon via a 6" Dia. pipe.
Let's explore the Corona Mine
Back to California Desert Page